I've forgotten my password
Kent County Amateur Swimming Association Kent County
Amateur Swimming Association

Kent battle it out for superb 6th place at ASA National County Team Championship

24th November 2015

Kent battle it out for superb 6th place at ASA National County Team Championship

18th October 2015 | Pond’s Forge, Sheffield

The team assembled on the 17th, joining the coach at three different pick-up points for our journey to Chesterfield for an overnight stay, evening meal and some team bonding at the IBIS before breakfast and the short journey to Sheffield the following day.

The pool was set up in its customary mode of two 25m pools for this event with the two 20 team divisional competitions running concurrently at opposite ends of the pool. Kent competed in the Division one competition, as they have done since the competitions inception in 2002.

Savanna Jemmett (Sevenoaks SC) and Theo Haslam (Bromley SC) were appointed team captains for the day, however Michael Jacobs represented Theo in the parade with Savanna as Theo was racing early in the programme. The atmosphere was electric, as always, with face paint, wigs and an assortment of musical instruments (and tutu) in abundance making it a colourful and noisy event!

Kent did not have to wait long for its first victory courtesy of Thomas Leman (RTW Monson SC) in the boys 12/13 100m Breaststroke. Henry Rennolls (White Oak SC) supplemented with a dominant performance to win the boys 14/15 100m Freestyle in style, leading from start to finish in a new Kent County Junior Record (Subject to ratification). There was a 2nd and 6th place finish for Imogen Meers (Bromley SC) in the girls 12/13 100m Back and 100m fly. Annabel Guye-Johnson (RTW Monson SC) and Tiegan Child (Beckenham SC) both secured 4th places in the girls 14/15 100m Breast and 12/13 100m Free respectively. Kent’s points tally was augmented with a further five top ten finished: a 5th place by Nathaniel Rodrigues (Sevenoaks SC) 12/13 100m Free and Matthew Rogers (Bromley SC) in the boys 14/15 100m Breast, 6th and 8th place finishes from Max Jameson (Thanet SC) in the boys 14/15 100m Fly and Back and 10th in the girls 16/17 100m Back for Team Captain Savanna Jemmett.

These were the highlights, but every member of the team fought hard for every point and special mention must go to those whose swam unfamiliar events and really stepped up to the plate in terms of commitment to the team.

Kent and two other teams battled it out for most of the event for 4th-6th places and some fine relay performances put Kent in with a shout of 4th with a couple of events remaining. Lancashire ran out clear winners in the end, retaining the trophy they won last year. Kent finished a very creditable 6th, just 2 points shy of 5th and 3 points of 4th, which would have equalled Kent’s best ever performance at the event in 2012. In any event it was our second highest ever points score and a superb result.

From a coaching and Team Managers perspective team was a credit to themselves and their clubs. They jelled well and were excellent ambassadors for the County. They were very professional and well behaved (with the hotel manager feeling the need to put pen to paper endorsing this fact!) and gave their all for the cause.

A very tired team travelled back to Kent in the care of our regular driver Graham (Scotland & Bates) and even a two hour delay on the M11 could not dampen their spirits from what was a fabulous weekend for Kent! 

Full results can be found on the ASA web site and more photos can be seen here

1 Lancashire 493
2 Yorkshire 447
3 Somerset 424
4 N & Durham 383
5 Middlesex 382
6 Kent 380
7 Ox & N Bucks 333
8 Herts 328
9 Cheshire 326
10 Scot East 324
11 Surrey 309
12 Leics 297
13 Berks&SBucks 288
14 Derbyshire 286
15 Hampshire 274
16 Suffolk 270
17 Scot West 269
18 Devon 246
19 Dorset 240
20 Worcs 214




Tiegan Child Beckenham SC

Emily Das RTW Monson SC

Imogen Meers Bromley SC

Zoe Naylor-Perrot Sevenoaks SC


Tamara-Elise Elliott Beckenham SC

Annabel Guye-Johnson RTW Monson SC

Maisie Macartney Thanet

Ruby Waters Beckenham SC


Hanna Denny Thanet SC

Savanna Jemmett Girls Captain Sevenoaks SC

Sophie Lewis-Ward Beckenham SC

Sophie Waller Thanet SC



Joshua Cowan Thanet SC

Thomas Leman RTW Monson SC

Eddie Peytchev Bromley SC

Nathaniel Rodrigues Sevenoaks SC


Luke Douglas Saxon Crown SC

Max Jameson Thanet SC

Henry Rennolls White Oak SC

Matthew Rogers Bromley


Theo Haslam Boys Captain Bromley SC

Michael Jacobs Sevenoaks SC

Simon Newton RTW Monson SC

James Vick Erith & District SC

Team Staff, Officials & VIP’s

Team Managers

Denise Walsh

Megan Veale


Kim Longland

Michael Cook

County Officials

Jason Mears

Malcolm Keysell

Attending VIP’s

Scott Walker, Kent County ASA President

Kay Grimshaw, Past President, Kent County ASA, London Swimming, ASA Sport Governing Board

Well done to all those representing Kent

Kent County Amateur Swimming Association Swim England Affiliated County Swim England South East London Swimming Swim England British Swimming British Swimming Swimline Child Protection in Sport Unit